Rabbids Go Home (Wii) and false carrots

There are touches of greatness to Rabbids Go Home. Amongst them is the game’s memorable use of licensed music, a rarity in this kind of game. The Delfonics, in a 3D platformer? You bet.

(OK, not this song. Actually it’s I Told You So.) Delfonics and a few other fantastic touches aside, Rabbids Go Home is let down by the repetitive nature of its main gameplay. The game basically consists of controlling a shopping trolley, racing through levels with your two Rabbids, stealing junk from humans in an almost Katamari like fashion. The goal is to pick up enough junk to help the Rabbids build their way to the moon. It’s a fun, wacky premise, and the game delivers on that absurdity. Ultimately what you end up with is a perfectly decent alternative to the Mario Galaxy games, in an era when there are very few alternatives to Super Mario Galaxy. But I don’t really want to talk overly much about the game itself here: this post is about post-game content, i.e. what happens when you beat the main game of Rabbids Go Home.

rabbids go home wii 2

Meet the Rabbids’ official band, who will serenade you after each level and transport all the junk you collect through the sewers to your base. Hence the toilet.

Like the Mario Galaxy games, Rabbids Go Home has a relatively low bar if you just want to see the end credits. Low enough that when I unlocked the game’s final stage, I still had a few stages available which I hadn’t played. After the credits rolled, it was little surprise when the game unveiled a new challenge: 31, 750ft. By contrast, unlocking the final level only required 23, 000ft. When I did the maths it became apparent that the game was demanding I collect every single collectible in the game, 100%. That amounted to a considerable challenge, even though I had 100%ed certain individual levels already along the way.

And so that was set to be the end of it for me. These days I’m in the habit of turning off a game after the main game is over, unless there’s some especially compelling post-game content. A recent example of a game that I deliberately backed away from was Jet Set Radio Future. Great game, with excellent content throughout, but the post-game events proved very challenging and time-consuming. I made a conscious decision to move on, content in the knowledge that there were some parts of the game I hadn’t experienced.

I was fully prepared to do the same with Rabbids Go Home. The game’s ending hints at the possibility of a level set on the moon, which sounds pretty damn cool, but with a big effort required to get there I figured it best to ignore the lure of whatever bonus material 100%ing the game would net you. Better to settle for merely seeing the credits, right? Right.

rabbids go home wii 4

For curiosity’s sake – always with that damn curiosity! – I decided to look and see what the reward was for hitting that fabled 31, 750 ft goal. Maybe I could see a video online of the moon level or whatever. But what I learned dramatically damaged my estimation of this game. Because, wouldn’t you know it: there is no reward. None whatsoever. Oh no, wait, actually, the star icon next to the 31, 750 figure on the level select screen rotates. Seriously, what the fuck?! Nothing?! Not even an alternative title screen or cheap gimmick. They couldn’t even be bothered with that.

Does the fact that my opinion of Rabbids Go Home has soured as a result make me a complete hypocrite? Why do I care if there’s no reward for a task, when I wasn’t seriously considering taking on that kind of challenge anyway? Maybe it’s because I feel a strong sense of pity for the people who did take it on, because, for a few minutes anyway, I did consider an attempt. As I said, the game hints at some substantial post-game content, a moon level is implied! I believed it and a quick Google search revealed that other people expected something similar. God knows how many people out there actually went and completed the game fully, believing (like me) there would be something to unlock, only to be let down. Maybe they didn’t check online, or maybe it was in the early days after the game had just come out so the information wasn’t out there.

Either way, it’s shit. As gamers, we’re conditioned to expect at least something in the way of post-game content. Or, if there isn’t any, to at least have the game be clear that there isn’t any. So how about those dangly carrots? Have you ever been tempted by prospective unlockables in a game only to be let down? Or the oppposite: what is the best, least expected unlockable you’ve come across in a game? One thing I know now: not even The Delfonics can redeem Rabbids Go Home for me.

6 comments

  1. moresleepneeded

    I have not played this game. It is interesting that some games still manage to use wacky storylines, considering even family games seem to have slightly serious storylines (such as the backstory to Rosalind in Super Mario Galaxy). It seems odd that this game uses licenced music when musicians would probably prefer to be associated with more well-known titles.
    I agree with the statement about only completing the main game. I find a lot of games require the player to repeat levels to complete them within a time limit or obtain enough collectibles to achieve 100% completion. I find this can make the game boring as the player plays the same levels a lot and just follows a path to complete the levels in an efficient manner. I will attempt to achieve 100% completion if it will enhance the game (such as completing all challenges in Super Mario Galaxy) or if the post-game content extends the game (an extra level or animated sequence).
    I found a lot of games at a certain time offered artwork created during the development of the game as a reward for achieving 100% completion. An example is Indiana Jones and the Emperor’s Tomb. This game was quite difficult (mainly due to the game’s design) and collecting all the hidden artefacts only allowed the player to view production artwork.

    • veryverygaming

      Yes, artwork is a common one. I remember a lot of that in the Metroid Prime games. It’s small but I appreciate that kind of thing. Still I probably won’t go out of my way if it’s just for artwork. I haven’t played that Indiana Jones game, but I did get 120 stars in Mario Galaxy to unlock Luigi, and then in Galaxy 2 I got 242 stars. (The final challenge in Galaxy 2 was brutally hard but it was a lot of fun.) Great games. I don’t know if you ever played Eternal Darkness, but that had a secret ending you could unlock by beating the main game three times on the different difficulties. I was really into the game and did it. Not sure the secret ending was worth it to be honest, but it’s a good game, and not too long either, so I wasn’t annoyed or anything.

      • moresleepneeded

        I remember one of the reasons to achieve 100% completion on the Metroid Prime games was to extend the ending animated sequences. I searched the entire planet in the original game, but still only managed to reach 96%. I achieved 100% completion in the third game, but I did not understand the ending (it seems to include a spaceship found in another game).
        I have played the first Mario Galaxy game, but did not reach 100% completion. I have heard of the other games, it must be strange to suddenly get an alternative ending after completing the Eternal Darkness game several times (the problem is confident players may not bother completing the easy difficulty, while other players may not bother with the more difficult versions of the game).
        I actually forgot the most obvious pointless unlockable content. In the Legend of Zelda, Ocarina of Time game, there are Golden Skulltulas which, after they have been killed and a token collected, release a family from a curse. When I was younger, I tried to find all the Skulltulas to discover the rewards for lifting the curse, until a friend told me they had accomplished it and all they received what a lot of rupees (as they had filled their wallet during the search, the reward was useless).
        The strangest unlockables were in Star Wars: Bounty Hunter. Finding the hidden collectables and bounties improves the player’s statistics, unlocks artwork, creates a collection of “trading cards”, allows the player to read a comic book and watch “outtakes” from the game.

Leave a Reply

