Weird Video Wednesday: All I Want For Xmas…

…is my PSP. Nope, not this time folks! It was going to be Sony’s laughable attempt at viral marketing for the PSP, but frankly, amusing as it is seeing a grown man hump a ladder, it’s also rather predictable marketing-done-wrong. And haven’t we seen enough corporate mishaps on Weird Vid Wednesday? I think so, for now at least.

By contrast nothing could be sweeter, or less cynical, than watching these kids’ react to a brand spanking new NINTENDO SIXTY-FOOOOUUURRRR for Christmas. This kid heard Nintendo’s marketing messages – The future is here! Dinosaurs will fly! Feel the adventure with Nintendo! THE FASTEST MOST POWERFUL GAMES CONSOLE ON EARTH – and ran with it, practically taking off in the process. ADHD much?

More to the point though, can you blame him for being so excited? As regular readers will know I loved my N64, which I also got as an Xmas gift in the late nineties (fortunately no one was filming…). And to this day I cherish the N64 for delightfully quirky titles like Blast Corps and Mischief Makers, on top of the many timeless classics born in that generation. One memory I don’t particularly cherish is getting Donkey Kong 64 for Xmas the year it came out, only to discover that past the DK Rap there wasn’t much of interest. Next year’s Super Smash Bros. made up for that though, thankfully!

If you have any memorable moments around Xmas and gaming, do drop us a comment. What was your most memorable gaming-related Xmas present?

6 comments

    • themancalledscott

      One more thing, how do you go about adding YouTube videos to your blog? I followed all the embedding steps from YouTube and tried to put a video I recently uploaded into one of my blogs, but it didn’t work. Any tips?

      Also, feel free to toss in any of my videos on WVW any time. 😛

      • veryverygaming

        Ha ha, subtle plug there! I found your account on Youtube, cool vids. Is it a feature of the new Smash to upload fights to YT? If so that’s pretty cool.

        To embed vids, you can just copy and paste a link to the Youtube page on its own, but I find it a bit temperamental and the video will automatically stretch as wide as the reading pane which is just too big for my liking. So I always use the embed code: [ youtube=*insert link here*&w=*insert width in pixels here* ]. (Don’t leave any spaces at the start and end like I have here.) That works every time for me.

        And yeah, that PSP video is well and truly awful. Like I said it was going to be the main video, but there’s funny-bad and then there’s bad-bad…

        • themancalledscott

          Thanks for the tips! Are the asteriks included or was that just for emphasis (I’m not smart when it comes to these interweb things)?

          I believe Smash Bros. does now have the ability to upload directly to YouTube, but the videos I have up were done before they added that feature in an update. I just used a GameCapture device.

          I was actually referring to a video on my other channel though. But hey as long as I get viewers it’s all good. 😛 Still trying to determine what kind of videos should go where to justify having the two channels. 😛

          • veryverygaming

            Asterisks aren’t included, no, just copy and paste the link on its own and put a number of pixels for width (I usually go with 500).

            You have another channel? What’s the username so I can check it out? Alternatively hopefully now you can post videos on your blog so you can link to them easily there.

          • themancalledscott

            Thanks for the info. 🙂

            My other channel is Doctor Roscottnik. I think I’ll probably post more nonsensical stuff there (I even have an older YouTube channel on top of these ones, but I don’t really use it any more).

Leave a Reply

