Weird Video Wednesday: I’m Han Solo, Solo

Celebrate the release of the new Star Wars film, The Force Awakens, by reliving classic Star Wars moments with Kinect Star Wars! Set phasers to “sizzle” for this strut down memory lane! Bring your best moves and test them against the might of the Empire in a Galactic Dance-Off!

I’m morbidly fascinated by this. The same goes for the other pop song conversions used in Kinect Star Wars: Princess in a Battle (Christina Aguilera’s Genie in a Bottle), Empire Today (Village People’s YMCA), Hologram Girl (Gwen Stefani’s Holla Back Girl), Kashyyyk (Jamiroquai’s Canned Heat). But I’m Han Solo, aka Ridin’ Solo by Jason Derulo, takes the awkward-funny prize.

That’s all I have to say. This stands alone. Kinect Star Wars, along with Angry Birds Star Wars, was one of the final Star Wars licenced games released by LucasArts before the Disney buyout. And if those two titles don’t signal the demise or something or other, I don’t know what does.

For this Wednesday’s Weird Video, all credit goes to Lewis Packwood (aka Lucius P. Merriweather) over at A Most Agreeable Pastime. His article on Kotaku which ranks almost every Star Wars game ever released on PC or console was most impressive, not to mention informative. I don’t know how I was able to avoid knowledge of Kinect Star Wars for so long, since the internet went nuts about it back when it came out, but somehow it passed me by. And if it passed me by, there must be others out there who have been kept in the dark for too long!!

Now if you’ll excuse me… I’m so happy the carbonite is gone / I’m movin’ on /I’m so happy that it’s over now / The pain is gone…

4 comments

  1. moresleepneeded

    I have not heard of this game either. I did not realise the story of Star Wars could be told in a disco setting. I like the way the game has given names associated with Star Wars to each of the moves and the lyrics of the songs. It seems like something early games used to do, release a game based on a simple game (such as Tetris) themed around another game series. I cannot work out if the game was intentionally released to be based on humour or if a marketing executive genuinely thought it would successfully exploit the Kinect popularity.
    The Empire Today sounds strange, giving a new look to the evil Empire.

    • veryverygaming

      I agree 100%, it’s a really weird and confusing product. Part of me thinks it looks and sounds like a ton of fun and I’d like to try it 🙂 Another part of me thinks I’m a terrible person for even considering it, it looks so bad. Genius? Or dumb cash grab? I honestly don’t know.

Leave a Reply

